International Women’s Day

A very quickly written post.  Today is International Women’s Day.  The Internal Aikdio Federation is using it to promote and encourage woman in aikido – #AikidoWomen.

I strongly feel that any traditional martial art is beneficial for women (I know nothing about modern ones, but I suspect the same applies).  I appreciate that for many women walking into the first class can be daunting, especially if the class is all male.  But do it!  I walked into my first jiu jitsu class not knowing anyone, and within two hours I had fallen in love with jitsu and made friends with a group of diverse people.  If it helps then take a friend with you to that first class, even if they sit on the side like I have done for someone in the past.  No one will mind, in fact they may have done the same thing themselves.

Yes, the practical side of a martial means you learn some form of self-defence skills but there are many other benefits.  I have seen shy women starting a class and over time their confidence both on and off the mat increases.  Martial helps improve your general fitness, but in a slow and steady way that crash gym courses don’t do.  Very few people are super-fit when they start a class but over time your health improves.

All clubs take it easy with beginners.  If falling is required then you learn to do so in a safe way that helps prevent injury.  Initial attacks that you learn to defend from will be done in a slow and controlled way.  We want our beginners to stay and learn!

The best thing about martial arts?  I don’t know!  There are so many to choose from.  Friendships, learning a new skill, being able to face down your fears, having fun….

So women, take up a martial art.  Men, encourage women in your life to take one up.  For those in the UK I have provided some links to some national organisations.  These websites will in turn provide lists of clubs so you can find one local to you.

 

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.